660.429.2761   |   APPLY NOW!
  Contact Information
The American Legion Boys State of Missouri Logo
"MBS Changed my life and I suspect the program will not only open doors for me, but show me doors I never knew existed. Go Crowder!"

-- Nicholas Carrell '04
West Plains, MO

Press Release

June 23, 2003

For more Information Contact:
Contact Missouri Boys State


(Warrensburg, MO) - Olawale Ayooluwayimika Hassan of Ladue, MO was elected Governor of the 64th session of The American Legion Boys State of Missouri held on the campus of Central Missouri State University last week. Hassan defeated Eric A. Kafka of St. Louis County, MO in a landslide to win the statewide election held on Thursday. Hassan who attends Horton Watkins High School in Ladue captured 78% of the vote in his victory. Kafka received only 20% of the vote in a spirited election.

Hassan is the first student from Horton Watkins High School to win the office of governor in Boys State history. In his inaugural address on Thursday evening he thanked the many individuals who helped him in his campaign and the members of the Missouri American Legion who sponsored the 64th session of the Boys State program.

Hassan spoke to the participants of Missouri Boys State following the remarks of the outgoing Governor Brian Harvey of New Franklin. The Chief Justice of the Missouri Supreme Court Stephen Limbaugh administered the oath of office to Governor Hassan and the newly elected state officials during the joint session of the Missouri Boys State House of Representatives and Senate. Limbaugh also delivered a keynote address during the assembly.

Other students elected to statewide office were: Lt. Governor, Jeffery M. Hay of Sikeston, MO; Secretary of State, James E. Tvrdy of Cameron, MO; State Auditor, Patrick J. O’Brien of Lexington, MO; State Treasurer, Brian A. Trojahn of St. Louis, MO; Attorney General, James T. Merchant of Marshall, MO and David C. Kuo of Jefferson City, MO was elected Chief Justice of the Supreme Court.

The following individuals were elected as regular members of the Boys State Supreme Court:
Adam D. Akers, Springfield, MO
James E. Huffman, Clinton, MO
David A. Jenkins, Kansas City, MO
Kevin P. McCaffrey, Nixa, MO
James E. McDonald, St. Louis, MO
Robert E.L. McVay, Centralia, MO

Only young men who distinguish themselves as leaders in their high schools and communities are selected to attend the Missouri Boys State program. Missouri Boys State is a citizenship and leadership training program sponsored by the Missouri American Legion. Boys State was held during the week of June 14 - 21, 2003 on the campus of Central Missouri State University in Warrensburg, MO.


Back to Press Releases


The American Legion Department of Missouri

[Home]  [Site Map]  [About Us]  [Contact]  [Apply Now!
[Online Store]  [Donate]  [Links]  [Press Releases]