660.429.2761   |   APPLY NOW!
  Contact Information
The American Legion Boys State of Missouri Logo
"MBS Changed my life and I suspect the program will not only open doors for me, but show me doors I never knew existed. Go Crowder!"

-- Nicholas Carrell '04
West Plains, MO

Press Release

June 18, 2005

For more Information Contact:
Contact Missouri Boys State


Jordan M. Loggins(WARRENSBURG, MO) -- Jordan M. Loggins of Chesterfield, MO was elected Governor of the 66th session of The American Legion Boys State of Missouri held on the campus of Central Missouri State University last week. Loggins defeated David M. Jackson of Cape Girardeau, MO in a landslide to win the statewide election held on Thursday. Loggins who attends Marquette High School in St. Louis captured 62% of the vote in his victory. Jackson received 32% of the vote in a very spirited election. Loggins was sponsored by American Legion Post 556 in Chesterfield and Jackson was sponsored by the Cape Girardeau Optimist Club.

In his inaugural address on Thursday evening, Loggins thanked the many individuals who helped him in his campaign and the members of the Missouri American Legion who sponsored the 66th session of the Boys State program and immediately began to lay out his agenda for his one-year term as Governor.

His remarks to the participants of Missouri Boys State followed the remarks of the outgoing Governor Terrence Williams of St. Louis. U.S. Court of Appeals Judge Duane Benton administered the oath of office to Governor Loggins and the newly elected state officials during the joint session of the Missouri Boys State House of Representatives and Senate. Benton also delivered a keynote address during the assembly. During his remarks, he challenged Boys State participants to get involved in public service in their schools and communities.

Other students elected to statewide office were: Lt. Governor, Alexander E. Jackson of Kansas City; Secretary of State, Jonathan Thai Nguyen of Florissant, MO; State Auditor, Eric Ryan Olson of Columbia, MO; State Treasurer, Eric M. Bird of Rogersville, MO; Attorney General, Thomas A. Ringenberg of Springfield, MO and Syr-Franklin Kennedy Ellis, II of Cape Girardeau, MO was elected Chief Justice of the Supreme Court. The following individuals were elected as regular members of the Boys State Supreme Court:

Michael H. DuBose, St. Louis, MO
Joshua F. Gonzales, Ballwin, MO
Kevin M. Jakopchek, Kansas City, MO
Kyle A. Nettesheim, Fenton, MO
Tyler W. Smith, Mexico, MO
Eric S. Stone, Florissant, MO

Only young men who distinguish themselves as leaders in their high schools and communities are selected to attend the Missouri Boys State program. Missouri Boys State is a citizenship and leadership training program sponsored by the Missouri American Legion. Boys State was held during the week of June 11 - 18, 2005 on the campus of Central Missouri State University in Warrensburg, MO.


Back to Press Releases


The American Legion Department of Missouri

[Home]  [Site Map]  [About Us]  [Contact]  [Apply Now!
[Online Store]  [Donate]  [Links]  [Press Releases]